Saturday, Aug. 28, 2004 at 1:33 am
Perverse Motives
Listening to:
I feel:

I have an update on what I wrote about in this entry about that problem I was having with trusting people anymore.

It turns out, Drew told me that what Kerry said was true, but that Kerry had only told me those things because he wanted me to get mad at Jeremy, stop dating him, and see Kerry as being a good guy and make me want to date him instead. Now this could create a very awkward situation for me, so I told Drew not to tell anyone I knew why Kerry had told me those things. Kerry has liked me for about a year now, and I really don't want to hurt his feelings by confronting him about it, because I really don't feel the same way about him. I know it would hurt his feelings to know that, and I would feel awful knowing I had hurt his feelings. It's all a matter of opinion on what I should do about this, and seeing how mine is the most important in this situation, I am choosing to run away from the problem completely and act as though I know nothing about him liking me. This problem will work itself eventually.

It all comes down to that popular debate: Is it better to have false hope, or none at all? Is it better to be blissfully ignorant?

I really do not know which is better for Kerry, but I do know what is better for me, and that is to just leave him with false hope. Selfish? Maybe. But I see it more as a win/win situation. Kerry's not sad, and I'm not forced into the awkward situation of confrotation.

Also, I think if he knew I didn't like him, he would do the typical thing people do, and just avoid me as much as possible. I really don't want that.

At the same time, I also think it's shitty of him to do that to Jeremy. Kerry was supposed to be his friend, and friend's just don't do that. I appreciate him be truthful and honest to me, but his motivation pretty much cancels out the virtue of his actions.
rewind--fast forward� [comments]

The Break Up... - Friday, Apr. 15, 2005
I reach but I feel only air at night. Not you, not love, just nothing. - Saturday, Mar. 26, 2005
Fraiser :( - Sunday, Mar. 06, 2005
End of the Trimester - Friday, Feb. 25, 2005
Three's Company - Sunday, Feb. 06, 2005



If you don't like it here, you can go fuck yourself!
This diary is hosted by diaryland.