Wednesday, Dec. 08, 2004 at 10:15 p.m.
Josh Coleman died too young.
Listening to:
I feel: shocked

When I was in 2nd period today, the announcments came on and said this kid named Josh Coleman died on his way to school. Apparently, he was in a wreck and thrown from the car. Call me over sensitive, but I don't know who the guy is, and I almost cried. I'm not sure why, because I didn't know him, and people I don't know die every minute. I think it's just because it reminded me that no matter how young or healthy someone is, they're not immortal. The guy sitting beside me told me that he had just talked to him yesterday at the game. It's just so weird that one day everything's fine with someone, and the next day you find out they died on their way to school.

Another reason it upset me was that I knew Josh Coleman would never go to a football game again, never laugh with his friends again, or even graduate high school. I wish I had a chance to meet him.

And then I thought about all the life he's missing out on and all the accomplishments that will go unacheived just because he forgot to put on his seat belt, or maybe if he wasn't so tired and was able to pay more attention. It's scary to think about how one second could make a difference, and how you could be gone any second.

At the end of the day, the announcements came on again, and they said that in memory of Josh, there was to be no talking in the hall until you get out the doors of the school. But when I got up to my locker in the sophomore hallway, there were people talking. Not people whispering, but talking. Now, I can understand a little bit of whispering here and there, but to speak as loud as you would if nothing had happened... Jesus, the guy fucking died, I think the least he deserves is a freaking moment of silence!

It's weird that this is affecting me as much as it is. I guess this is just as close as I've ever got to knowing someone who died. It's just a rude awakening to me.
rewind--fast forward� [comments]

The Break Up... - Friday, Apr. 15, 2005
I reach but I feel only air at night. Not you, not love, just nothing. - Saturday, Mar. 26, 2005
Fraiser :( - Sunday, Mar. 06, 2005
End of the Trimester - Friday, Feb. 25, 2005
Three's Company - Sunday, Feb. 06, 2005



If you don't like it here, you can go fuck yourself!
This diary is hosted by diaryland.